RSS

Guinea Pig and Rabbit Owners, take notice!

11 Mar

I have recently discovered a miracle in bedding!!

If you’ve ever owned a guinea pig or rabbit, you know that the ammonia smell they can produce is pretty pungent. I clean my piggies cage every four days to help prevent this, but even so, two days after I clean it, I can generally smell it. That is, when I was using Carefresh bedding or Kaytee bedding. However, my pet store recently ran out of my choice bedding, and I needed more! So I went out on a limb and tried a bag of this:

pPETS-4601097dt

It is amazing! I was sick with flu-like symptoms last week and wasn’t able to clean the pigs cage on the fourth day as usual, and though it was definitely in need of being cleaned–lots of poo scattered around– even my mothers sensitive nose could not detect a hint of foul smell! I will still be cleaning every four days, but I am pleased to say that I will no longer have to put up with the strong ammonia smell! It’s a few dollars more, but it’s totally worth it. I still use a handful of Kaytee bedding on top, so I don’t have to use quite as much of this more expensive bedding per bedding change, but I will never go back to just Kaytee or Carefresh for the guineas. (My gerbils however, have no smell and thus will not be put on this bedding.)

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2014 in The Clan

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Guinea Pig and Rabbit Owners, take notice!

  1. Sarah

    March 12, 2014 at 8:03 am

    We use something very similar in the UK! (It’s called Back 2 Nature). Absolutely fab stuff for slightly pongier animals, like my rats! The gerbils like it in their litter trays as well:) Love reading your updates, been searching the web for nice gerbie sites for a long time! Keep posting:D x

     

Leave a Reply

 
